New iPad Pro review: can it replace your laptop?

Share
Embed

Comments • 5699

  • Enrico de Martinis
    Enrico de Martinis   2018-11-19T14:43:56.000Z

    which case are you using ?

  • Crash Lander
    Crash Lander   2018-11-19T10:14:42.000Z

    this is Apple still wanting you to buy an iPad PLUS a laptop. Simple... simple greed.

  • Noble Obodum
    Noble Obodum   2018-11-19T05:08:11.000Z

    Wait...the iPad Mini works with the 1st gen Apple pencil?!?!? How did I not know about this?!?!?

  • Manuel Perez
    Manuel Perez   2018-11-19T00:39:45.000Z

    No f that love to DJcity

  • Chrisbeckus
    Chrisbeckus   2018-11-18T21:11:22.000Z

    Does anyone know the brand of the shirt he is wearing?

  • nguyon knight
    nguyon knight   2018-11-18T15:35:49.000Z

    It doesn’t even amaze me anymore that they haven’t made the “pro” to support flash drive. I’ve tried to imagine it replacing my MacBook Pro...but sadly can not

  • harenk
    harenk   2018-11-18T12:47:23.000Z

    Excellent point made here. Apple can make the worlds most power computer but their “walled garden” approach is the ultimate road block for many consumers. It’s the very reason I switched to the Microsoft Surface Go for my duel purpose tablet-computer. What a shame...

  • hellsohot x
    hellsohot x   2018-11-18T12:45:17.000Z

    Apple needs to re-enginner the iOS and MacOS to be more adaptive and versatile. They keep thinking they \"invented\" a lot of things by shoving things that the OS wasn\'t able to do before into it. Unless they want to take the downfall of being in their own bubbles for eternity, which is most likely.

  • Ralf Strauch
    Ralf Strauch   2018-11-18T08:26:29.000Z

    Good review 👍 Besides i\'d expect growing features with iOS13. Finally this new iPad Pro is just f*** overpriced but a gorgeous piece though...

  • varun gupta
    varun gupta   2018-11-18T07:03:26.000Z

    Please do one for tab s4, since it has an oled display it will be interesting to see how it stacks up

  • MouOu
    MouOu   2018-11-18T03:30:27.000Z

    screw it i am ditching my laptop and going to the ipad bc of the multitask lol edit: i changed iphone to laptop

  • νικος γιώργος
    νικος γιώργος   2018-11-17T22:32:47.000Z

    If you touch it it will bend!

  • p1xelp
    p1xelp   2018-11-17T21:34:43.000Z

    The iPad Pro has a serious problem playing audio. I have two of these and they both \'click\' when playing audio files.

  • D. Brown
    D. Brown   2018-11-17T20:30:01.000Z

    honestly IMO i really think buying an ipad is a pretty silly purchase, if you already have an iphone and a macbook, theres no point to an ipad. The only thing apple should do is finally combine mac os and a ipad like device instead of a giant iphone os 🤔

  • Aqua Purificotta
    Aqua Purificotta   2018-11-17T19:32:51.000Z

    in my honest opinion I think it depends on what you\'re doing. if you\'re just the average consumer (web browsing, emails, media consumption, etc) this sounds great...but you could still do all that for way, _way_ cheaper. if you\'re the kind of person who draws, sure! i can see how this would be great for someone who uses apps like procreate or Photoshop (support for that is coming in 2019 tho) or is just used to iOS but still needs something to get their work done. still though, i do think you could do it for cheaper, like last year\'s Pro, but I digress. if you\'re the person who say, uses heavier applications, or someone who isn\'t really familiar with the cloud or the limitations of iOS, then personally I don\'t think this could replace your laptop. It low-key feels like an accessory to a laptop/desktop, or a souped up iPhone X. basically what I\'m trying to say is that this thing is great, I love it, it just doesn\'t seem to be something that could replace your main computer, mostly \'cause the OS is lacking. it\'s nice iPad, but...it\'s still an iPad.

  • Jousboxx
    Jousboxx   2018-11-17T17:27:26.000Z

    \"swipe up to go home\" \"swipe up a little bit more to open the app launcher\" \"swipe up just a little bit to open the dock\" jee whiz this seems like a reliable system that would be very difficult to make mistakes on

  • Karl Rühl
    Karl Rühl   2018-11-17T16:25:51.000Z

    It’s bends like a paper and it breaks like a paper - Jerry rig

  • chelsea
    chelsea   2018-11-17T15:58:11.000Z

    I have the first ever iPad Mini and I’ve been looking for a replacement for a while now. Would you recommend buying the new iPad Pro? Is it worth the money or should I just buy a laptop

  • CARS 3
    CARS 3   2018-11-17T12:44:06.000Z

    iOS 13 wishlist Split screen multi tasking on the iPhone Having Window on the iPad Locking individual apps Clear all option in multitasking Camera settings in the camera app Make Siri smarter + faster Moving apps in the home screen Convine contacts + Imessage + facetime Weather + calculator app on iPad Allow NFC to thirp parties Naming Bluetooth devices Turning flash on and of when recording Movingwallpapers support for external harddrives on ipad Support for flash drives on iPad Support for Googles VP9 video codex A version of finalcut Pro for iPad

  • Atul Kaushik
    Atul Kaushik   2018-11-17T09:19:51.000Z

    what\'s the use of USB -C port, when you cannot use it for it\'s full potential, also, There is no file management system, etc.. etc..., for these shortcomings, this hardware is overkill...may be iOS 13 will be able to address , what Apple is intentially restricting at the moment....good hardware though....

  • sultanabran1
    sultanabran1   2018-11-17T08:52:08.000Z

    short answer before you even watch the video? no, it can\'t. because it\'s still an ipad, same as the previous model. it might look different but it still works the same.

  • Mk ._. queen22
    Mk ._. queen22   2018-11-17T07:54:32.000Z

    Nah it will never defeat the microsoft surface pro 🙂

  • Dan Galman
    Dan Galman   2018-11-17T07:20:35.000Z

    Great content! This is definitely one of the most articulate reviews you guys have done! Thank you, The Verge!

  • Another gamer
    Another gamer   2018-11-17T07:16:55.000Z

    Here I am typing my comment using the Samsung Galaxy tab s4 running full linux thanks to Dextop. Sorry apple but for me it is NO!

  • Alan Hughes
    Alan Hughes   2018-11-17T03:21:22.000Z

    Awesome new speakers, but what good do they do when it is basically impossible to listen to music on iOS. As soon as you do something else, it automatically pauses the music. Awesome new song, want to open that mp3 in the music app? Sorry. Want to view a website? Let us compulsive redirect you to some mobile version or to the app store. Want to click on a text box? Let us arbitrarily scroll the page a little bit to confuse you and make you forget what you were going to type or so can\'t read the message you are replying to. Want to indent a paragraph? Sorry we removed that button. Want to do anything at all? Nope, we tell you what to do.

  • its sareX
    its sareX   2018-11-16T22:04:49.000Z

    Simple answer: No.

  • xXIllGetYouXx
    xXIllGetYouXx   2018-11-16T21:56:57.000Z

    Can it replace your laptop? Hell no.

  • M. Louis Photography
    M. Louis Photography   2018-11-16T19:25:45.000Z

    THANK YOU FOR AN HONEST REVIEW! Someday over the rainbow Apple my wake up and let users REALLY leverage their gear. Again, thanks!

  • SAFUVAN ZAF
    SAFUVAN ZAF   2018-11-16T19:24:29.000Z

    This review made me subscribe you 😀 ❤️

  • Krill Siluroid
    Krill Siluroid   2018-11-16T19:11:16.000Z

    IPads were never meant to replace your MacBook or laptop Apple wants you to buy both. That\'s why there are always seems to be something holding back each iteration.

  • Bryan Ferrer
    Bryan Ferrer   2018-11-16T16:05:46.000Z

    Not all usb-c dongle supports daisy chain ... Also , flashdrive and external hdd should work if there is a usb-c adapter with power source

  • Javeria Zulfqar
    Javeria Zulfqar   2018-11-16T07:04:22.000Z

    i dont think apple is trying to replace laptops with this ipad because they\'re trying to sell the entire ecosystem ((iphone, mac, ipad). i doubt it\'ll ever be able to replace a laptop entirely simply because apple wants to push macbook sales too.

  • Chino Designs NYC.com
    Chino Designs NYC.com   2018-11-16T04:55:45.000Z

    I just purchased it, FYI guys remember Photoshop will have a version in 2019...can\'t wait!!

  • Alden Clarke
    Alden Clarke   2018-11-16T02:44:36.000Z

    You\'re trying to force your dated laptop ways onto the iPad Pro. Remember, we\'ve been doing our Mac laptop thing since the 90s. This is a paradigm shift in how a computer fits into life. Evolve or go extinct!

  • robotechfans
    robotechfans   2018-11-16T01:59:16.000Z

    \"it\'s more expensive than my laptop\" \"I should love it.....\"

  • Tracee Lopez
    Tracee Lopez   2018-11-16T00:17:55.000Z

    It’s like you’re really really trying to find every bad thing. Lol Overall, pretty decent review :p

  • Nathanael Hoffman
    Nathanael Hoffman   2018-11-15T22:08:19.000Z

    This guy low key annoys me lol

  • Cristiano Maestro
    Cristiano Maestro   2018-11-15T21:30:08.000Z

    Really. Could on my laptop Fortnite runs 1 FPS on my tablet 30

  • KWAN Francis
    KWAN Francis   2018-11-15T17:05:16.000Z

    Cannot tell how much I agree with the critic from the Verge about the new iPad Pro in 2018. In 2018 when apple is showing off how powerful the new generation iPad Pro could be , apple at the same time shipping the by-product that how obvious the limitations of an iPad (or iOS) are . With all these amazingly powerful hardware in the new iPad Pro 2018, it\'s the first time we see the iOS is holding the hardware back from reaching its full potential while forcing consumers to pay the bills for the hardware. All of these marketing doesn\'t make sense at all when we\'re talking about an iPad more expensive than a capable laptop computer. Eventually, if you\'re paying a price as much as for a powerful laptop , you\'re demanding for getting serious things done efficiently , rather than appearing to be aesthetically cool casually. Lastly, Well, having no real file/folder management capability in such mature iOS is really an immature behavior .

  • JON Gergeceff
    JON Gergeceff   2018-11-15T17:03:14.000Z

    Awesome review Mr Patel

  • Sonia
    Sonia   2018-11-15T13:51:57.000Z

    I LOOVE MY I PAD PRO 2018

  • Declan Sharp
    Declan Sharp   2018-11-15T11:50:03.000Z

    Lol better then apples laptops i7 cpus hahaha apple is straight garabage for what you pay for. People waste so much money its funny af

  • Dilan Stubbins
    Dilan Stubbins   2018-11-15T07:57:21.000Z

    For a college student who just uses this for notes, writing essays and basic use is this fine or should one get a MacBook Pro?

  • Phanitej Kanchu
    Phanitej Kanchu   2018-11-15T07:53:32.000Z

    $2200 for tablet! , no thank you.

  • Biggie Phil
    Biggie Phil   2018-11-15T07:24:16.000Z

    I wish Apple would install Mac OS on the iPad Pros.

  • hotmojo1
    hotmojo1   2018-11-15T03:44:05.000Z

    I use the fan. What more do you need?

  • Thayer Vahan
    Thayer Vahan   2018-11-15T02:57:55.000Z

    I wish to use this iPad pro for school work and drawing. Would this be good for school work such as, Google classroom, Google docs, Google slides, etc?

  • Chris Lynch
    Chris Lynch   2018-11-15T00:07:07.000Z

    I’d wait for the pro 2020 before buying into this. Kudos costs..

  • Rafael Freitas
    Rafael Freitas   2018-11-14T21:50:59.000Z

    Mossberg certainly disagrees.

  • Muneeb Chaudhry
    Muneeb Chaudhry   2018-11-14T21:04:53.000Z

    I have the previous gen 12.9 inch iPad Pro, and I love it for what it is. However, I agree with everything you said in this review. If you know what you’re using it for and its limits - its a great machine. I’m a student, and for me its a paperless option for note taking with apps like Notability. And I have the added convenience of having a computer for pretty much anything I need. I’ve used a laptop for school work, and it’s nowhere near as engaging and versatile for note-taking in lectures. That being said - the iPad can’t be a computer for people that need a full computer and full-strength programs... Maybe someday, but it’s not there yet.

  • Eric Pellegrini
    Eric Pellegrini   2018-11-14T19:24:45.000Z

    A reviewer who thinks a GeekBench means an iPad is as fast as a laptop. Not impressed.

  • Encanto India
    Encanto India   2018-11-14T17:27:19.000Z

    I am planning to buy a new portable device. I am confused between Surface Pro and this iPad pro. Budget is not an issue. Can all you people please help me decide. Till now I have been using Samsung Tab s3, iPad 3 and HP x360. HP is basically a laptop but its small and i can use it as a tab though heavy.

  • SlowRide
    SlowRide   2018-11-14T16:54:39.000Z

    I don\'t want iOS at that price. At that price just give it OSX. then and on;y then will it truly replace a laptop.

  • Cult Snarez
    Cult Snarez   2018-11-14T15:16:04.000Z

    Pro DJ gear works with Surface Pro 6. Just saying....

  • Grady White
    Grady White   2018-11-14T14:17:56.000Z

    You said Adobe wrote a Siri app that imports photos from the camera roll into Lightroom CC and then automatically deletes the imported photos from the camera roll. What is it called and ow do I get this app? I cannot find it anywhere.

  • R Snr
    R Snr   2018-11-14T14:14:50.000Z

    I’ve felt that dockand app switcher gesture has been difficult for quite some time.

  • Angelo V.
    Angelo V.   2018-11-14T07:14:44.000Z

    Nice review overall. Despite being critical of the iPad Pro, I’ll still, probably get one compared to the new MacBook Air. I mainly use my computer to type documents, to create slides using google drive and to surf the web for news and entertainment like a normal tablet. It can probably replace my laptop, especially when Apple fixes the Files feature. The one thing that I heard no one talk about at all is the iPad Pro’s future proofness. The A12X chip is so powerful that it could probably handle future iOS updates for the next decade at most. Overtime, Apple will develop iOS to be more optimized with more iPad specific apps and third party apps that take advantage of the A12X. So if I do buy one as a laptop replacement, I should be fine based on what I need for now. However, if I do need more pro apps later down the road, the iPad will probably have those apps by the time I need them. Either way, I think it’s a good purchase for me.

  • Mainak Roy
    Mainak Roy   2018-11-14T06:22:05.000Z

    Damn

  • Taylor Albaugh
    Taylor Albaugh   2018-11-14T04:57:09.000Z

    Omg just bring MacOS to the iPad Pro dear lord so many people want this!

  • icephoenix88
    icephoenix88   2018-11-14T01:35:32.000Z

    The next iteration will have the full OS. Next thing you know everyone will be rallying behind apple saying they are so innovative & changing the game - _-. Until they actually do something signicant I\'ll stary away.

  • Theodore Yamada-Dessert
    Theodore Yamada-Dessert   2018-11-14T01:32:19.000Z

    *\"Yet\"* or *\"...for now\"* should be included after every one of his complaints. People forget that this thing can improve greatly fast. For this reason, I found this video slightly misleading, but for the most part I really liked this product review.

  • Gerhard Wunderler
    Gerhard Wunderler   2018-11-13T23:55:45.000Z

    Excellent review... you really nailed it! Was a big Apple fan years ago, but they lost me with this stupid compatibility issues like not playing Googles 4K vids, not allowing my 1st gen. MacPro to run an OS beyond Lion even though it is capable of etc...

  • TheLouis9720
    TheLouis9720   2018-11-13T21:05:27.000Z

    I’ve got an 800€ bonus to spend in electronic shopping for the school but I’m actually in doubt between the new IPad Pro , the old MacBook Air or the base model of the MacBook Pro. What would you suggest to me ? Consider I have a mid 2012 MacBook Air 11” which fits a lot with my daily use (web browsing normal stuff ), the most important thing for me it’s MATLAB using, that is not still available for iPad . Thank you for your attention.

  • # TooMuchScotty
    # TooMuchScotty   2018-11-13T18:13:30.000Z

    The pen being magnetic should’ve been on the first iPad pro. Why don’t they make a iPad Pro that can do everything a laptop can do, the tech is already in there hands but they don’t because they will put those features in the next iPad pro

  • Kaito Hamada
    Kaito Hamada   2018-11-13T17:22:09.000Z

    Hooold up! iPad Mini from late 2018? What\'s that? And it shouldn\'t be the iPad he placed next to the iPad Pro 2018 the scene after he said that...

  • Sean Mather
    Sean Mather   2018-11-13T16:40:15.000Z

    Apple can do hardware so well.... they really need to focus on software and compatibility. The walled garden is no longer useful in keeping people in the apple ecosystem, it’s keeping the company from growing bigger. If it more seamlessly fit in with my other devices then it would be great, but right now my phone and iPad feel like they’re on their own little island. At this point I think 3 things need to happen. One is apple needs to go all in on it’s own chips, as clearly it can take full advantage of it. Secondly they need to bake in great x86 compatibly into OS X once they move to be all A series processors. Finally OS X needs to be on every pro machine and optimized for touch, while iOS should be the non pro system.

  • corsegerspwnd
    corsegerspwnd   2018-11-13T15:20:42.000Z

    No

  • Art Online
    Art Online   2018-11-13T14:18:59.000Z

    Thanks! Welcome to my channel!)

  • Arya1999
    Arya1999   2018-11-13T13:44:22.000Z

    No proper keyboard, no replacement. If you\'re a touch typer who has to type all day, chicklet keys are a frigging nightmare. I\'ve had to buy a gaming machine.

  • thinlycuta4paper no lastname
    thinlycuta4paper no lastname   2018-11-13T13:38:38.000Z

    With osx yes

  • gene978
    gene978   2018-11-13T12:57:07.000Z

    Not a fan of the Price of the pencil after using a normal Stylus from Dollar Tree waiting for the pencil to come in. The new Pencil cannot open HOME SCREEN of Shift side to side to the next Application. The Keyboard Bores me to pieces and $200 is outrageous for this No frills Keyboard with No Home Button or short cuts and Can’t full protect the device when closed. I was hoping Logitech or someone else had something out for this 12.9 Pro so I can bring back this horrible plain keyboard. The IPad is nice but miss the Touch sensitive home button for unlocking and it’s features. I still have my other IPAD PRO that is still like NEW condition and I am asking myself do I need this new one? The screen is beautiful and the depth is amazing but not $1200 worth.

  • Aegon Aram
    Aegon Aram   2018-11-13T12:36:50.000Z

    I would rather a yoga C930

  • jujuju222333444
    jujuju222333444   2018-11-13T12:03:43.000Z

    conclusion: im not buying one. btw, GREAT REVIEW! : )

  • Jega Surian
    Jega Surian   2018-11-13T08:40:34.000Z

    i can use headphone adapter for 3.5mm jack cable? and we can export photos , videos & some files to memorycard using card reader?

  • Phil
    Phil   2018-11-13T08:38:30.000Z

    Love iOS as a mobile OS but this is like strapping a Ferrari engine on a horse.

  • Tijmen Brozius
    Tijmen Brozius   2018-11-13T08:31:42.000Z

    I only have the last version of the 12,9 version to draw in Photoshop - on my Mac. I use the Astropad app to do that, it does a great job of turning the iPad Pro into a graphics tablet. I did this to avoid having to buy an expensive Wacom Cintiq. So for that it works. I absolutely hate the roadblocks mentioned in the video, and use an android phone - I would never use iOS daily.

  • Orelion
    Orelion   2018-11-13T08:13:45.000Z

    \"I don\'t want to adapt to my computer...\" But that\'s the entire mantra of Apple in all long their products...

  • sdq sdq
    sdq sdq   2018-11-13T07:32:53.000Z

    Folding screen is the future

  • AbdulMajid H Jaffar Ali
    AbdulMajid H Jaffar Ali   2018-11-13T06:58:38.000Z

    Then what is the best unit that replaces your laptop?

  • Axel Fischer
    Axel Fischer   2018-11-13T03:20:09.000Z

    I can’t use Rosetta Stone on this beautiful but USELESS IPAD without a FLASHDRIVE!!!!

  • Axel Fischer
    Axel Fischer   2018-11-13T03:19:09.000Z

    Apple get it together!!!! I want a IPAD that REPLACES A COMPUTER!!!!!

  • Kalid Dueck
    Kalid Dueck   2018-11-13T02:10:11.000Z

    IT IS NOT A COMPUTER REPLACEMENT!!!! Why is everyone bringing this up in their reviews. The iPad was never meant to be a computer replacement.

  • Shivamrinder Kapoor
    Shivamrinder Kapoor   2018-11-13T00:23:31.000Z

    This review was soooooooooooooooo good

  • micah
    micah   2018-11-13T00:14:39.000Z

    love the honesty

  • Stephen  Andrews
    Stephen Andrews   2018-11-12T22:52:02.000Z

    If I live for another 50 years maybe I could save up for it !!!

  • Alex
    Alex   2018-11-12T22:21:27.000Z

    Have you tried Y Disk flash Drive? It has a free app. I\'m using it with iPad 2017. I have a the 125GB Flash Drive.

  • Paul M
    Paul M   2018-11-12T21:20:30.000Z

    One note: the old Apple Pencil could be charged with lightning chargers using a tiny adapter that comes with the unit. (which was really easy to lose) I always ended up charging it the \'goofy\' way by sticking it into the port so it looked like an old bluetooth antenna

  • Paul M
    Paul M   2018-11-12T21:11:02.000Z

    Haha \"it should make my heart flutter.\" I wish I could get that excited about tech. Maybe if someone gives it to me for free :D

  • David Bowen
    David Bowen   2018-11-12T19:21:38.000Z

    Best tech review I\'ve watched/read in a long time. Same frustrations with iOS!

  • Joe Monsanto
    Joe Monsanto   2018-11-12T19:16:00.000Z

    I have been an iPad fan for years, but with this version, they\'ve lost me. I can\'t justify spending $1,500 for something that won\'t truly replace my laptop. I have business apps which I simply can\'t run on an iPad. As it is, I was using my iPad mostly to RDP to a windows desktop.

  • David Builes
    David Builes   2018-11-12T18:37:22.000Z

    Thanks for the review. Very informative and upfront :D

  • Mike O'Connor
    Mike O'Connor   2018-11-12T18:16:13.000Z

    The ipad is not supposed to replace a computer. its a tablet not a computer and will always be that.

  • RunningFromAdults
    RunningFromAdults   2018-11-12T16:52:03.000Z

    Too much greed. Not enough innovation.

  • karotofel
    karotofel   2018-11-12T16:17:12.000Z

    Give me that exact thing but with macOS and I will throw all the money at apple. Ppl say that for years now but apple is just laughing at this

  • Robin Offringa
    Robin Offringa   2018-11-12T15:41:49.000Z

    It could..... If it had mouse support....

  • DiamerladGamer
    DiamerladGamer   2018-11-12T15:36:08.000Z

    Am I the only one who believes that they stole the \"program on Tablet\" thing from Microsoft, The Attachtable keyboard from them too?

  • Marek Sławiński
    Marek Sławiński   2018-11-12T14:52:17.000Z

    I think next year iOS 13 will bring much needed software features to iPad. Right now software is two steps behind hardware.

  • Flash Thunder
    Flash Thunder   2018-11-12T14:36:00.000Z

    cheap HP printer did not work? what?! I would expect it to work in the first place!

  • NAD T
    NAD T   2018-11-12T13:06:04.000Z

    No and too expensive

  • iforce2d
    iforce2d   2018-11-12T13:02:09.000Z

    12:10 lol I thought I heard him say $2200 for a minute there :D ohhhh.....